Hello!

I’m Kim.  This is my 7th semester at SLIS.  If all goes right, I’ll be graduating this December.  When I first started at SLIS, I did so with plans to work in an academic library.  However, I’ve found that I have more passion for working with youth.  I’d now like to work in a public library in youth services or reader’s advisory. I’ll be moving to Kansas City a few months before I graduate, so I’m hoping there will be job opportunities available there.

I’m originally from Southwest Missouri, but I’ve been living in San Diego for the past 3.5 years.  I currently work for an AmeriCorps organization that provides volunteer respite care for homebound seniors. My library experience has been strictly through volunteer work, but I’ve been lucky enough that the library where I currently volunteer allows me to do tasks that aren’t typically done by volunteers.

I have a bachelor’s degree in English and Writing from Drury University.  I graduated 6 years ago and had intended to go to grad school for creative writing.  Instead I took a few years off, during which time I worked as a graphic artist.  After I moved to San Diego I had difficulty finding a job and ended up in a position that was a step down from what I had been doing.  Unhappy with where I was, I revisited the idea of grad school, but instead of creative writing, I kept coming back to the idea of library science.  The library was a place I always felt at peace, even as a child, so I’m surprised it took me as long as it did to decide that’s what I wanted to do.

As far as my personal life:  I’ve been married for 3.5 years.  My marriage is what led to my moving to San Diego, since my husband is in the Navy.  I love this area and hope to return here some day.  We have a beagle named Bella, who is incredibly spoiled and love the beautiful weather here as much as I do.  I spend  free time reading, writing, crafting, sewing, and spending time outdoors.

I have another wordpress blog and I’m also on twitter and goodreads.

Leave a Reply

