Searching Databases

I’ve been trying to keep track of how I use databases for searching while working on this lit review. This is just a few quick thoughts I had earlier today. I will probably continue to write about this for the next couple of weeks.

Some thoughts:

I tend to start with the most obvious keywords. Those that are the definition of the topic I’m researching. That does provide several articles, usually, but I don’t really like sticking to that and soon start searching other things.

Refining the search is often necessary. I like looking at the related keywords for the articles, or reading through the articles to find a new angle.

As Ive written about before, I do tend to get off topic when I discover something interesting that isn’t really related to the search. However, this time it seems to be useful.

Leave a Reply

